Don’t confuse your SEO ranking results with personalised results

It is all too easy to create a Google account to gain access to all the free Google tools such as Analytics, Places, Merchant Center, AdWords (well, OK that one’s not really free) etc. and forget that you’ve ticked the stay signed in option.

If you select the “Remember web history” option in your Google account then Google will remember your browsing and deliver personalised results. It is easy to be lulled into a false sense of security that your site is ranking well, when in reality you might be seeing biased results.

Always remember to logout before checking your site ranking for Search Engine Optimisation OR add the parameter &pws=0 onto the end of the Google search string.

Help and advice on SEO in CambridgeHuntingdon or Peterborough from WebSanity Internet Marketing.

Share
This entry was posted in Search Engine Optimisation (SEO). Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.

About Gerald Thulbourn

Gerald Thulbourn setup WebSanity in 2004. He has a 1st class honours MEng in Microelectronics & Software Engineering (i.e. he's a techy), 5 A grades at A level (i.e. he works hard) and loves to communicate (i.e. odd for a techy). He hates tech speak, sloppy/badly tested code, and technology for the sake of technology's sake. He loves helping people understand marketing concepts and seeing how their application makes a real difference to their business. In particular he loves training; SEO, Website Analysis, WordPress etc. Read more about us on Google+